Wow.  Six weeks away from home (weekdays only – home on the weekends)!  That’s a record for me.  I think I’m going to make diamond status on the hotel points pretty soon.

I’m home for this week and I’m off again next week and who-knows-when after that.

This has all been very disorienting.  I feel as if I’ve lost the entire month of September; it was really hot when I left and now it’s fall weather.  When home on the weekends, we’ve been doing laundry (more accurate to say that Melissa has been doing it) and just resting up.  Several weeks in there we had stuff to do: parent weekend at OSU, Patrick’s wedding, etc.  Other weeks I was so mentally and physically exhausted that Saturday was just spent sitting around resting and Sunday was spent mentally gearing up for the next week.

I guess this is just a part of life.  I hope that I can go this awhile longer but then put an end to it so that it doesn’t hang over my head any more.

I need to put water-seal on the fence and plant the fall flowers but I think that’s about it.  The house could use a good cleaning that I would need to help with.  My personal projects have languished; my woodworking is at a halt until I can re-grind the bevels on all my edged tools and get them sharpened.  I need to decide upon a guitar effect kit and get that ordered so Geoff and I can make progress on our goal of building one.  As the professional, he wants it to be perfect, I feel that simply functional might be good enough.  He thinks I’m a genius; I am not but I hate to correct him on this so I keep looking for a way to build a perfect effects box myself.

Well, I guess all these things will wait for me until I can get to them.  First, the fence this week and then the flowers.  Then I’ll be back in Greenville and we’ll see what happens after that.

One thing I can do from a hotel room is organize my electronic life.  When del.icio.us folded up and became what it is, I seem to have lost all my many bookmarks that I’d accumulated through the years.  Oddly enough, it doesn’t seem to matter.  They claim to still be up and running but I couldn’t get the bookmarklet to work and I don’t see why I should try since there are other cool services out there now like Evernote and Dropbox.  I’ve managed to set up both of these to do what I want in conjunction with the ifttt.com site which cleverly makes things talk to one another.  One day when I get a new iPhone, I hope all these things will work more quickly together than my current snail’s-pace iPhone.

