One downside of modern-day weather forecasting is that I’ve lost the hope I used to have that the weatherman would be wrong and maybe we wouldn’t get that snow.

Last week, they predicted it right down to the minute.  It began to snow on Monday night and, as predicted, became a blizzard.  Here is an excerpt from the National Weather Service Bulletin:

315 PM CST MON JAN 31 2011

…WINTER STORM WARNING IS CANCELLED…

THE NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE IN TULSA HAS ISSUED A BLIZZARD

WARNING…WHICH IS IN EFFECT FROM 6 PM THIS EVENING TO MIDNIGHT CST

TUESDAY NIGHT…

HAZARDOUS WEATHER…

* A MIXTURE OF SLEET AND SNOW WILL SPREAD INTO NORTHEAST OKLAHOMA

   LATE THIS EVENING…AND INCREASE IN INTENSITY IN THE EARLY

   MORNING HOURS. HEAVY SNOW AND SLEET…ALONG WITH WIND GUSTS OF

   35 TO 40 MPH WILL OCCUR AFTER SUNRISE AND CONTINUE INTO THE

   AFTERNOON HOURS. SNOWFALL WILL LESSEN BY LATE AFTERNOON…AND

   DIMINISH BY MIDNIGHT TUESDAY NIGHT.

* 6 TO 12 INCHES OF SNOW…WITH LOCAL AMOUNTS NEAR 18

   INCHES…ARE EXPECTED ACROSS AREAS ALONG AND NORTH OF

   INTERSTATE 44. ADDITIONALLY…UP TO ONE INCH OF SLEET IS ALSO

   POSSIBLE. THE STRONG WINDS WILL PRODUCE SNOW DRIFTS OF 2 TO 4

   FEET.

* WIND GUSTS OF 30 TO 40 MPH WILL BE COMMON DURING THE DAY

   TUESDAY…WITH AREAS OF HEAVY SNOW AND BLOWING SNOW REDUCING

   VISIBILITIES TO NEAR ZERO AT TIMES PRODUCING WHITEOUT

   CONDITIONS. DANGEROUS WIND CHILLS WILL DEVELOP DURING THE DAY

   TUESDAY AND CONTINUE THROUGH TUESDAY NIGHT.

IMPACTS…

* TRAVEL WILL BECOME NEARLY IMPOSSIBLE EVEN ON TREATED SURFACES.

   THIS INCLUDES THE INTERSTATE 44 CORRIDOR THROUGH NORTHEAST

   OKLAHOMA. ISOLATED POWER OUTAGES WILL ALSO REMAIN POSSIBLE.

* ANY LOSS OF POWER WILL RESULT IN A HUMANITARIAN CRISIS…AS

   TEMPERATURES DROP INTO THE SINGLE DIGITS AND RESCUE EFFORTS ARE

   HAMPERED BY THE ROAD CONDITIONS.

Note the use of the term “humanitarian crisis”.  That’s pretty much exactly what happened.  We were homebound for three days and the governor asked the president to declare a state of emergency.  It all went pretty well for us though; we just stayed inside and did the sort of things we usually do on weekends and then when all those chores were done, we did fun stuff.  Mel completed our taxes, I finished up a video I’d been working on for Erin’s graduation, I did all my orrery stuff until I used up all the parts I’d built, and I got back to my old guitar tremolo effect project.  All in all it was pretty pleasant.

I thought I would never clear my driveway.  We set all sorts of records for snowfall and low temperatures.  And then to add insult to injury it all happened again this week.  On Tuesday night, it started snowing again and dumped about 4 inches on us.  The amounts varied tremendously from one place to another.  Just a bit north of here, they were getting upwards of 20 inches and Evan reported that and more over in Fayetteville.  This stuff, for whatever reason, proved much easier to clear away and to drive on so I only missed half a day on Wednesday.

So it’s been fun in a juvenile snow-day sort of way.  We experienced no damage – only a mild inconvenience so I shouldn’t complain.  My orrery project is suffering for it since I can’t get to my friend’s house to make the rest of the parts.

