For the last month or more, it’s been super hot which caused me to abandon all my outdoor activities in-place.  This has meant that my fence project has languished even in its last stage and there are tools all over the patio table.  And the last couple of weeks have been over 100 degrees every day with some days reaching 106.  This has caused us to hunker down inside almost as if it were the dead of winter with snow on the ground.

I’ve been working on my sprinkler system a little since, because of the heat, I finally needed to start watering.  I’ve done this in the early mornings and it was hot even then.  I did make a delightful discovery though – that if it’s really hot and dry, you can pretty much just unscrew the old sprinkler heads without digging them out and screw new ones down into the hole.  With the dirt as tightly packed and dry as it is, no loose dirt falls down into the pipe.  So I’ve replaced about five heads and the system is now back to its former grandeur with one glaring exception:  the shutoff valve.

This valve is leaking around the valve stem which means that I have to shut off the system at the street every time I finish using it, otherwise, the access well fills up with water and much water gets wasted as it trickles down the street. So I have that project that needs to be tackled but until then I can just go turn it on when I need it. 

We’ve been watching a great deal of TV.  Mel set up the DVR to record a number of shows she was interested in and those piled up some weeks ago and we’ve been working off this queue.  Plus, I was given the first five seasons of The Office for father’s day and we’ve been watching those too.  I’m content to take those at a leisurely pace but Evan decided that he needed to get caught up on all his pop culture at once and so watched them all in a marathon session so he could converse knowledgeably when he got to college.  Erin has ignored the whole thing and gone to be with friends who generally play “Call of Duty” when she has not been curled up with her recently purchased Nook reading ebooks.

I hope the high temps are over for the year although we can’t reasonably expect the temperature to go below a high of 90 until the end of September.  Still, a do-it-yourselfer like me can dream of working outside again.

