Years ago, I read a joke on the Internet on a pilots website. It told of a sign in an airport men’s room over the urinal that said:

“Pilots with short pitot tubes and/or low manifold pressure – taxi in close.”

I now work in a place where several of the engineers have their pilot’s license so I decided to tell that story to one of them.

His response was:

“Manifold pressure? That doesn’t make sense. The manifold pressure is usually low. It’s a vacuum – or at least lower than ambient. Manifold pressure usually means intake manifold.”

Me: “Yeah but you get it right?”

Him: “I suppose it could mean exhaust manifold pressure but you don’t usually care about that.”

Me: “Yeah, but it’s funny because they obviously didn’t want people getting pee on the floor. Or the rim of the toilet.”

Him: “It would be better to say something like ‘cylinder head pressure’ – that would work.”

Me: “Never mind.”

Him: “But you don’t usually have an instrument reading for that.”

Me: “Just shut up. The humor is gone now.”

Him: “For that matter you don’t really care about the length of the pitot tube either.”

Me: “I’m done. I’m going back to my desk now. Forget I ever said anything.”

This is fairly typical of conversations with engineers who are also pilots. I don’t try to tell them jokes any more.

