Erin’s plane was due back at 9:40pm Saturday night.  As that time approached, we checked the AA website often and discovered that the arrival time kept moving away from us.  Finally, we saw that it was off and so we took off ourselves for the airport.  Unfortunately, the website was wrong.

When we got there, we saw that it had not in fact taken off and their departure had been delayed another hour.  We took long walks back and forth, up and down the airport to pass the time but if you’re on the unsecure side of security, there isn’t much to do or see.  The one Starbucks was closed; the only food or drink available was from machines and that did not appeal.

Some other parents were there so we just sat and talked.  Evan spent his time playing games on his iTouch.  After all was said and done, their plane arrived at around 1:30 am.

Every kid from Asbury was exhausted from traveling all day; they had all been up at around 5:00 am to get ready and they all looked pretty ragged.  Erin could barely talk and refused to wear the “birthday girl” crown Mel brought along.  Her birthday had passed while she was away and she seemed not to care by that point.  We all staggered out of the airport into the snow.

Oh, and by the way, it snowed Saturday, Saturday night, and Sunday.  It had been a beautiful week with every promise of warm spring-like weather in the future but suddenly it got cold and we got dumped on.  So as we drove home listening to Erin’s fatigued report of how her week had gone, the road became increasingly obscured with snow. 

I hate that.

We made it home OK even though the last few feet up our own driveway were a bit slippery.  I have a long, ongoing animosity towards my neighbors across the street because they always park their cars on the street opposite my driveway.  As a result I always have to greatly slow down on my approach to my driveway in slippery weather and so I can never get up enough momentum to carry me up the slope.  I just kept at it Saturday night since the car has traction control.  I just kept giving it gas, it kept slipping but slowly inched us up until we made it inside. 

We spent a little time letting Erin finish her story but all went to bed soon at somewhere between 2:00 and 2:30 am. 

We slept in.

I got up at pretty much the regular time because that’s what my body does.  I did have a nice nap in the afternoon though.  Mel and the kids slept in much longer than that.  Erin and Evan staggered out of their bedrooms at around 1:30 in the afternoon.  We all finally got ourselves together by dinner time and went to our favorite restaurant to eat and let Erin tell us all about the trip in detail.

Things like late nights and disrupted sleep schedules always discombobulate my body clock and so I never felt quite right for the rest of the day.  Hopefully I’ll be able to work without feeling too wonky.