I always enjoyed reading Doyle’s series on Sherlock Holmes.  When the BBC produced the series starring Jeremy Brett, I greatly enjoyed those too.  In fact I enjoyed them so much that I recently bought the entire series on DVD.  We’ve been slowly plowing the 12 DVDs one episode per day.

I have discovered one trait that Holmes and I share.  (That’s probably one of the reasons I like the character so much.)  That trait is:  I like the fun parts of a job but lose interest when it comes to the follow-up.

Holmes was only happy when he was on the trail of a criminal – as soon as he got bored, he turned to narcotics.  He had the luxury of doing the mentally challenging parts of the jobs and then letting the police take over when it came to the arrest, booking, trials, etc.  In other words he let the police do all the boring parts.  If he had been employed by the police, he probably would have gone mad from the boredom of the inevitable paperwork. 

I’m the same way.  I love buying, for example, a new lawn mower.  I love putting it together, adjusting it, figuring out how to make it go, and tuning it up.  I just hate actually mowing the lawn.  That’s just walking back and forth in the heat. 

I think it’s a guy thing.   We love solving problems but we don’t love the day-to-day grind.  We like new, stimulating things.  We don’t like the same thing over and over. 

I guess it’s time to call the kid down the street who wants to mow my lawn for money.  Sounds like a win-win.

