My slide/negative scanner arrived yesterday.  I spent the several hours of the OU/Florida game sitting in front of the TV scanning slides.  My favorite part of the whole thing is that the thing is not tethered to the PC.  Plus, the thing is fast.  The slowest part is putting the film into the little film carrier thing – the scans themselves only take about one second.

Thus far, my assessment is that the resulting images are not the best – not as good as you’d get from one of the high-end scanners but I believe that most of them will be good enough.  With this kind of productivity, I should be finished with everything in a couple of weeks if I work a couple of hours a day which is way faster than using a conventional scanner.  If I can figure out how to use Photoshop’s scripting language, I can automate some of the post-processing although I haven’t seen a need for much of that yet.  Of course, I won’t put that amount of effort into it but it’s obviously fast enough that with a moderate amount of effort I can actually scan everything and it will not take years.  My hard drive is huge and should hold everything but CDs are cheap and backups should be easy.

I can probably sell my projector on craigslist or ebay as well as some related claptrap like slide trays.  That should recover a bit of space in the closet.  Plus, everything is available immediately on the computer for all to see.  All in all, I think it will turn out well. I’ve spent literally years thinking about the best way to scan all this stuff and not have it cost a fortune.  In the end, the answer turned out to be simply wait until technology provided a solution and drove the cost down.

I could have avoided the whole thing if I had never gotten a camera back in 1982.  But I’ve really enjoyed the whole photography thing; I guess it’s worth saving all this stuff for as long as I did.

