Saturday shaped up to be one of the hottest days of the year.  It was also chosen by Mel’s brother to celebrate his 25th wedding anniversary.  They had it outside.

But, since it was over in Fayetteville, AR, it was at least 10 degrees cooler that it was in Tulsa so it wasn’t so bad.  They chose “Agri Park” which is between the University of Arkansas equestrian center and some of the experimental farms and is more than adequately shaded.  There was quite a crowd since his wife has a pretty large family.

Erin brought along her latest boyfriend who coincidentally also comes from a large family so he felt right at home.  I have made numerous attempts at humor at his expense when he’s not around; making large family jokes like “which house is his? – never mind I’ll just look for the house with its own parking lot”, etc.  I’m sure this will all come back to haunt me one day.  Blogging about it will certainly not delay that day of judgement.

Evan couldn’t go since he needs to work as much as possible.  Truthfully, he wasn’t all that disappointed.  At his age, family gatherings are not high on his list of fun things to do.

The high point for everyone was the new baby.  She is now over a month old and is much more interesting and drew quite a crowd.  She did not sit in the infant carrier for more than a few seconds all day long.

I’m still very hazy on what the relationships are exactly.  When one’s inlaws have been married before and the children of the spouse then marry others and have children, the genealogy gets a bit complicated and I stop trying to figure it out.  I know that all these people show up at holidays and that’s good enough for me.  Beyond the obvious in-law situations, I just call them all “cousins”.

One of these (the father of the new baby) owns two restaurants and a skate park in Fayetteville and he enthusiastically told me to have Evan call him when he gets to the University; they’ll go wakeboarding, wakesurfing, and other guy stuff.  Mel broke in to point out that Evan will be studying chemistry and perhaps won’t have a lot of time to spend too many weekends at the lake.

“Oh… Yeah.” was the disappointed response.

I hope he does go at least once though.  I just feel better knowing that if some disaster happens with his car there will be somebody who knows the area that he can call.  I gave him a Honda to drive so that this would not happen but if it does, he’s got some contacts in the area.

It was a fun day though.  It’s far enough into the summer that we’re kind of getting used to the heat.  We’ll be going back in a few weeks to move Evan into the dorm.  I hope it’s not a record setting hot day then but since it’s in August, there’s a decent chance of it.

