I needed a bit of info from Evan yesterday during the day so I texted him for it.  He responded at the next opportunity with this:

So i got to watch a surgery but it was intense. I was more in the room than observing. Meaning it freaked me out and i had to sit down lol.  They say every one does that tho.

We discussed it in more detail at dinner last night.  There he was, washing stuff and putting in the sterilizer, when the surgeon called out “Hey Evan!  Come in here for a minute.”  When he did, the surgeon said “Check this out” whereupon he made his first incision.  It was nothing more than a wisdom tooth removal but there was no forewarning – just a sudden look at real human parts from the inside out.

I guess this is the sort of thing I should hope for; that he be exposed to every aspect of the job so that he will be able to tell whether or not it is the thing for him.  Last night he didn’t seem disturbed by it in any deep way; he still seems interested by the whole thing.  He just had an attack of the willies after his first sight of blood.  I’m not sure what that means, if anything.

It’s going to be an interesting summer for him.

