Last night was the awards ceremony for Erin’s school.

Before this gets started I’ll note that this is one of those times I’m glad I have almost no readership and that I shut off the Google searching of this blog.  That way I can speak plainly, if offensively, and not get into trouble.

Having said that I will now say that I think Erin was robbed.  Her grade point is perfect and her grade reports have never had a score less than 97 and yet she was passed over for one award after another; awards that seemed to be for academic excellence.  I’m not sure what you have to do to get an academic award if having perfect grades in your classes will not qualify you.

She was bitterly disappointed and I am too.  I must admit that much of what I think of myself is shaped by the accomplishments of my kids.  Right or wrong, that’s the way I roll and this bugs me on a deep level.  Her boyfriend (she told me later) gave her the “What do you care about what other people think?  Why do you want some meaningless awards?” treatment and normally I shun such counter cultural attitudes but this time I think he’s probably right and it was the right thing to think.  But I don’t think that way and neither does she.

I’m talking about math and science classes; classes that have a clearly defined correct-and-incorrect outcome.  I can understand that the awards in art, music, and drama are more subjective.  I don’t care so much about those anyway.  Even so, the fact that she earned a part in both plays as well as the big musical at the high school (one of only two such freshmen to do so), did not apparently qualify her for any recognition.

I’m pissed.

Erin is pissed too.

And no amount of head-patting or get-over-it talk is going to change that.  She just has to get over it on her own time.  I, for one, am willing to let her roll in it for a day.  Perhaps that will motivate her to blow the lid off the SAT when that rolls around just to show ’em.

She has been a bit arrogant lately though and perhaps this is a well-placed kick in her pride.  Maybe she’ll be better for it in the long run.

