We went to church on Sunday where there were still a lot of people staying due to the power outages.  Kinda strange although we never saw anybody.  There were curtains across certain hallways to keep us from wandering back there but they showed us a video made during the week.  Apparently everybody had about as good a time as one could have while being a refugee.  There were smiles anyway.  The service of music was excellent.

Other than that, not much is going on.  We’re all just waiting for school to let out, work to end, and Christmas to roll around.  We’re heading to Fayetteville on Saturday for Mel’s family party.  These are always great so I’m looking forward to it.

My birthday came and went yesterday without much fanfare.  We had a cake at the office and I met up with Mel and the kids at Ted’s Cafe Escondido after work which is a favorite of all of us.  Then I had another cake at home.

We don’t have a huge volume of stuff under the tree this year but it’s because each thing is pretty expensive and also small.  I have that lingering immaturity that equates size with quality and so I sort of miss the big pile of stuff under the tree even though the rational side of my brain knows that everything there is quality stuff.

