This week is Alfred Hitchcock week on the AMC channel and so I’ve been trying to record the movies that we’ve never seen. I would simply watch them if it weren’t for the fact that they’re on really late or during the workday. So it is no mystery (or perhaps it is) that the first day, I botched up the programming of the VCR and recorded two hours of drek from the wrong channel. I guess that movie is one that I am destined not to watch. Man I really need to get a DVR from the cable company.

While this was going on, we’ve been producing our own movies. Evan was busy working on the video for the school that he and his buddies filmed (videoed?) last weekend. It didn’t make it through final screening due to the fact that the sponsor apparently found something unspeakably obscene about a brief scene involving a leaf blower. It was a still frame with a kid holding a leaf blower (normally) and the text appearing to blow out the nozzle – text that told how much the T-shirts were to cost and where to get one. Mel and I want to call the teacher up and ask her what she found wrong with the imagery but Evan doesn’t want us to. He doesn’t like to make waves. It’s not like I would call her up and call her an idiot (although I do have my suspicions); I just want to know what she saw that I did not. Anyway, he edited that out and turned it in and all is well.

I took this as inspiration and worked on some of my family home video. I’ve gotten as far as Evan’s first birthday party. I guess you could say that I am not making very good progress in the two years since I bought the digitizing thing; I hope that I have many years more of good health in which to catch up. I’m getting a bit more efficient as time goes by though. I’ve finally learned a few tricks of how to delete most of your video and how important the right soundtrack is.  There was a bit of video from the time when we were packing up to move from Fort Worth to California and I remember that time as a bit unpleasant.  But rather than pick some melancholy tune that matched my mood at the time, I found some bouncy thing that made the whole video seem upbeat.  And this is how we reject the reality and substitute our own.  They do it in the entertainment business all the time.  Alfred Hitchcock was particularly good at it.  How else can you account for the fact that, in the movies, there is always a parking space right in front of the skyscraper when you drive up?  Or that the man always has exactly the right amount of cash to pass to the cabbie in a wad?

Anyway, now I can move on to his second year.  Check back with me next year for a screening.

