…before the summer vacation ends.  Erin leaves on a two-day trip to Six Flags over Texas today on a final hoorah before school starts on Thursday.  But wait!  I’m going too!

It’s quite a departure for me but I am in fact going along as one of (hopefully) several chaperons.   We’ve managed to pick the hottest day of the year so far to depart so we’re off to a running start.  Tonight we go to a Ranger game in Arlington and tomorrow we visit the American vacation mecca.  All I can say is:  Erin owes me.

I’ve been worrying about it all weekend but then there wasn’t much else to do.  Mel was in Ft. Smith seeing to her mom who is recovering from ankle surgery.  Evan was either at marching band practice or working so that left Erin and I to do the two or three chores and then watch TV.  I did get up and go over to a friends’ to help him replace an air conditioner.  Air conditioners never seem to fail when the weather is moderate; they wait until it is hottest and then give up the ghost.

So off we go today at 1:15.  I’m not sure what I was thinking when I signed up for this.

