We made it down to New Smyrna Beach, FL this evening.  My room is situated as I had hoped and I should have a clear line of sight to the entire shuttle launch trajectory until it goes out of sight or goes over the horizon.

My coworker seems to be coming down with a cold and has been quiet except for the sniffling.  If he doesn’t feel better, I may have to do this all myself.

We’ve already learned that the launch has been postponed from tomorrow until Monday due to a lightning strike on the lightning rod of the shuttle service structure.  So I’ll be here at least one more day than I had hoped.

I love having a cellphone now.  While waiting around in airports, I called Linda, Tom, Erin (who had been shopping for a swimsuit), and finally, Melissa.  It’s nice to be able to stay in touch like that.

I suppose I should have unpacked all our gear and set it up and checked it but we’ve got all day tomorrow.  That should be enough to see if it all works and if it doesn’t, go find a Radio Shack and buy replacement parts; which is pretty common.

Hopefully, it all boots up properly and we’ll be good to go.  I hope the weather holds up and there aren’t many clouds for the launch.  Clouds will totally screw up our observations.

