So, on Saturday, Evan wanted to meet some friends at the mall.  Woodland Hills Mall in Tulsa is at one end of a notorious stretch of city streets known as the 71st street corridor that goes from the mall at one end to highway 169 at the other.  And this was the Saturday before Christmas. 

Not smart.

Off we went.  At first, he wanted to drive but I reasoned that the traffic was probably beyond his experience and so it turned out.  During our crawl from 169 to Memorial Drive, I saw not one but two people in SUVs decide that they had had enough of waiting and jumped up the curb and onto the median to drive along there for awhile.  One guy very nearly got his left wheels on one side of the median and his right wheels on the other which would have caused him to get stuck on his differentials which the rest of us would have found totally hilarious. 

Then came the firetruck.  We saw him going the opposite direction from us and I was commenting to Evan how lucky we were that he wasn't coming up behind us.  Then I saw him making a U-turn in the rear view mirror.  EEP!  The traffic was gridlocked and so everybody had to start turning off into parking lots, hopping the curbs, and whatever else.  It was scary.

Then there was the mall.  That intersection has won a number of web-based awards at the most dangerous intersection in the country.  But I made it in to drop off Evan and then made it back out by going out the back way.  Still, it took me an hour to go two miles and back.

After having made it back to the Barnes & Noble to wait him out, he finally called at the appointed time to tell me that his friends wanted to go to the Starbucks and asked if he could tag along.  I said sure.  I thought I knew which one he meant.  So at the newly appointed time, I went to get him which at that particular place meant I had to spiral into it via a series of about five left-hand turns.  Finally, I called him to tell him that I was outside only to find out that I was not at the right Starbucks – in fact he was three miles away at the other end of the infamous 71st street corridor.  Upon reaching the last traffic light, he called me again to ask if he could go with them to dinner.  Grrrr.

After getting a promise that he would find a ride home, I went home to escape all this.  He did indeed find a ride home but not until after midnight.  He called with updates periodically during the evening:  first they had dinner, then they went to WalMart (???), then they went to somebody's house, etc.  Finally he came home.  In the meantime, we had gone to have barbecue for dinner so it was all good.

The traffic this time of year is crazy.  Stay at home people!  I will if you will. 

P.S.  Learn to use Amazon.

